Monday, September 28, 2009

This week, we started to talk about family. Today, we are going to learn how to use a website to help you practice reading and we are going to do 2 readings about families. After you are finished, you can click on the links on the right and go to other websites.

Have fun!

Monday, September 21, 2009

This is my routine. I usually get up at 6:00 and I eat breakfast and drink a cup of coffee. I sometimes eat an egg and toast for breakfast, but I usually eat yogurt and cereal. I don't take a shower in the morning because I take a shower at night. I brush my teeth and I get ready for work. Then I work from 9:00 to 5:00. After I get home, I make dinner and and wash the dishes. I usually read a book or watch TV in the evening. Next, I take a shower and get ready for bed. I go to bed about about 10:00. I don't stay up late because I get up early in the morning. On the weekends, I like to sleep late. I do my laundry, clean my apartment, and go grocery shopping. I sometimes meet my friends for coffee or I go to a movie.

Now, talk about these questions with your partner.

1. What time do you get up during the week?

2. What activities do you do before class?

3. What do you eat for breakfast?

4. What activities do you after class?

5. What do you do in the evening?

6. What time do you go to bed?

7. What do you do on the weekends (Saturday and Sunday)?

Next, you can write about your daily activities. When you are finished, read your classmates' writing. Then click on the links on the right and practice some of the things we've been studying this week.

Have fun!

Monday, September 14, 2009

Hello everyone,

Welcome to Level 2. I am happy that you are studying with us and I hope you are enjoying the wonderful fall colors we have all over Chicago now.

This is a website where you can practice writing, reading, listening and grammar. This week, I want you to write an introduction. After you are finished writing your introduction, read your classmate's introductions. Here is my introduction.

My name is Robbin. I am an English teacher and I have been teaching for 10 years. I am from the United States. My hometown is Holt, Michigan and it is small. Now I live in Chicago in the Uptown neighborhood. I am not married and I don't have kids. I have a cat and her name is Sophie. My favorite flavor of ice cream is chocolate and my favorite food is pasta. My favorite color is blue because it looks like the ocean and the sky.

Now you get to write. Please answer these questions:

1. What is your name?

2. Where are you from?

3. Where do you live now?

4. If you have a job, what do you do?

5. Are you married?

6. Do you have kids?

7. What are their names and how old are they?

8. What is your favorite food?

9. What is your favorite color?

10. What do you want to learn in English class?

Have fun!